S4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi S4 produced from 2009-2016

Test Drive Impressions

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2010, 08:24 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Test Drive Impressions

Not that I'm a professional auto journalist or anyone cares what I think of the car but I wanted to post some observations and get some impressions from the community especially those who moved to the B8 S4 from other Audis.

Got to test drive both a 6MT and Stronic this weekend. The power and drive-ability of the engine is amazing. The DSG gearbox is really incredible. It is amazingly fast.

In the manual, I had a difficult making smooth shifts. I normally drive a manual but the clutch take up was just different enough for jerky shifts. Also the way it holds high revs is a little foreign at first. When effort is made to shift faster it smooths out. Did those of you with the 6MT have to adjust your technique to be smooth in the S4?

I relly like the feel of the shifter, I didn't notice a rubbery feel that has sometimes been reported. The throws are perhaps a bit long.

Handling wise I thought there was a big difference with ths sports diff. I felt that my B5 A4 handled as well or better. Is this possible? Maybe I was just going faster than I realized in the S. Could be tires too. Both cars I drove had 19" wheels.

On the interior, I expected more bolstering from the seats. I don't think they had more lateral support than those in my current car. I was hoping they would be more like the seats in the C63 AMG.

Audi has the best interiors but it looks like they've been cutting costs on some of the materials compared to earlier generations. The lenses on the dome & map lights look cheap, the rotary ***** for the volume control and climate controls felt cheap. Audi really emphasizes "haptic" so their swithc gear is usually top notch.