S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

1st, 2nd, 3rd AND 4th gear synchros are junk. Synchro TOI wanted

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2003, 06:34 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st, 2nd, 3rd AND 4th gear synchros are junk. Synchro TOI wanted

[TOI=Transfer Of Information]
I've been driving manuals for 10+ years/ 200k+ miles with no transmission problems and only 1 clutch replacement on my 83 Prelude @ 186k (none on my 1990 CQ, even after 209k).

I don't speed shift, I don't street race, I don't abuse the car, I don't rest my hand on the shifter, I press in the clutch; I drive the car like a normal car. My shifter has always been stock. OCCAISIONALLY I need to get out into traffic or get into an opening in another lane and I need to shift quickly and get moving, but when I do so I'm making a normal shift quickly, I'm not slamming the shifter or jamming it into gear. Probably 70% of the time I'm driving this car in a non-sporting manner.

Synchros keep the gears turning at rpms that somewhat match the input shaft, so that when you shift the gears mesh correctly, right?

Are they synchronizing all gears all the time 'just in case', or, for example, do the 1st/2nd synchros only 'activate' and start synchronizing those gears when you pull the shifter to the left into the neutral position between 1st/2nd?

Does pushing the clutch in 'deactivate' the synchros? It should because the clutch should totally disengage the engine from the transmission so there would be no rotational energy to keep the synchros spinning.

What are SPECIFIC actions during the shifting process that stress the synchros?

What SPECIFIC actions during the shifting process can be done to 'baby' a car that may have been designed with delicate or fragile synchros?

J.T.L.
02 S4 Santorin/Silver/6 speeds all over the tech's workbench
Old 06-03-2003, 07:33 AM

Default Try this...advise from Istook