S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

2001 Audi S4 / B5 / Wheels

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2011, 12:52 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Audi S4 / B5 / Wheels

Hello everyone...! Newbie here with a question that has probably been asked a thousand times, but here goes again...

I have an '01 Audi S4/B5.. Love it to death. But the last time I had the tires balanced the guy told me I had a couple of "slightly" bent rims.. I bought the car used so I am assuming they are EOM rims..

This is going to be a bit long... Anyway since I had a couple of "slightly" bent rims I thought I would upgrade. A few weeks ago I started getting a little "shimmy" in the steering wheel, so I bit the bullet and ordered a set of BBS "replicas"...

The wheels I took off, like I said, I assume are OEM with 225/45r/17s. When I took them off I noticed the "shimmy" was coming from the front tires rubbing against the part the control arms mount to. Hitting the side of the tire. Actualyl right at the corner of the tire at the tread line... Really bad... Extremely bad... I am surprised I didn't have a blow out.. (this are tires with less than 10k on them)

Anyway, since I had already received the new wheels (18" x 8") now I am concerned the same thing will happen with my new tires.

They are 18" x 8" with 35 offset, 5-112 bolt pattern (of course),
66.6 hub bore, with 225/40zr/18 mounted on them.

Has anyone experienced this problem, with stock wheels, or think I will have the same problem with the new wheels and tires...?

Should I install spacers to make sure they don't hit...? They miss the calipers as they are.. Again, I assume the suspension is completely stock...

And to anyone whos reads all of this and responds, you have the patience of a Saint...!!!

Thanks,
Custom53
Old 01-28-2011, 09:30 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

I have a few pictures of both sets now...

Old 01-28-2011, 02:48 PM