S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Help...LOUD high pitch whine :(

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2009, 10:28 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help...LOUD high pitch whine :(

Hey there...I'm a newb on this forum but I'm hoping for some feedback regarding a high pitch whine (more of a howl) coming from my right rear (ish) drivetrain.

Some back ground real quick:
2000 S4 with 95k miles, Stage 3, drivetrain wise I have 034 snub mount and cage, 034 street density tranny mounts, and Apikol rear diff mount and carrier bushings. (motor mounts are still stock...call me lazy )

At first I figured it was the too common wheel bearing...but I replaced the right rear 11 months ago...and quick S turns to load/unload it do nothing to the pitch or volume. It is for the most part only audible from about 57 to about 80 mph or so. It doesn't matter what gear I'm in...I've downshifted from 6th to 5,4, and 3 and the pitch or volume doesn't change. The pitch goes up with speed and it gets louder the further I drive at highway speeds...almost like it heats up and really starts to hum if I drive over 15 mins on the freeway. The kicker is...it goes away when I let off the gas. Say I have the cruise on at 65 mph and I coast down a gradual hill...the sound is gone...but as soon as it levels out and the engine/drivetrain picks up a load again it comes back. And when you head up the next hill and the load increases it will really start to hum.

I serviced my rear diff...fluid was dark but no chunks or anything abnormal. No effect on the noise...its actually getting worse progressively as time goes on.