S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

need help on launching S4

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2002, 09:29 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need help on launching S4

please keep in mind i'm still a beginner at stick so the more detailed an explanation, the better. i tried some launching last night but 2 out of the 4 times the car would just make a clunking sound and not move. also, the other times that i did launch the car, it seemed to hesitate a little. aren't awd cars supposed to jump out? *shrug*

oh, and once the car is flying out, how do u shift through gears without out that slight clunk? am i supposed to release the clutch somewhat slowly also? thanks in advance.
Old 02-18-2002, 09:32 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default My first Quattro took some getting used to!

It just took some time to learn how to launch properly. Hell, I still "flub" a launch now and then!
Old 02-18-2002, 09:39 AM
AudiWorld Super User

could u explain a little please? =)
Old 02-18-2002, 09:41 AM

Default I wouldn't launch it quite yet until you are very comfortable with the stick

How's the practicing coming along? Do you notice yourself shifting smoother yet?

If you really want to try a launch, engage the clutch, rev your car to 3500 RPM, and drop the clutch. One swift move, don't let it up slowly or it'll glaze over and it'll slip for days (real annoying). Keep your foot on the gas and gun it as soon as you drop the clutch. Shifting in this circumstance will not be smooth, and this whole procedure is not really good for your drivetrain, but it is fun as hell :-D
Old 02-18-2002, 09:44 AM
YS4
AudiWorld Super User

Default I don't have a 1.8T but what I do for a quick launch..