S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

NO START! PLEASE HELP. long

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2005, 11:11 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NO START! PLEASE HELP. long

My 2001.5 Audi S4 will not start, it has the mods in m sig. This is a complicated and long story so please bear with me. I will explain how it built up to a no start in chronological order. FYI, I was an ASE certified master tech for years but only worked on American and Japanese cars, so when in doubt I covered the basics. Also I have NO catalytic converters.

1. It started to lack power but idled perfectly. It made full boost but low power and NO misfiring.
2. It then set the check engine light, I got a code for bank one cam sensor out of sync.
3. I then data logged the heck out of it and found that everything was ok except for the lack of timing advance. At the most it hit was only 6 degrees advance most of the time it was at zero. I have many logs upon request. NO misfires showed up either.
4. The code for the bank one cam sensor kept coming back so I changed the cam sensor and verified a proper power and ground with the help of my bently.
5. Code remained after changing the sensor, then I got an intermittent crank sensor out of sync.
6. It sat for a week while I moved.
7. I finally started it again and it hardly idled and ran. Pulled codes and got codes for both cams.
8. It sat again for another week. Then it started idled like crap then died.
9. Now if I clear codes and then crank it only these 2 codes come up. 16730 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G163): Implausible Signal &16725 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40): Implausible Signal
10. I verified this again and again, I could smell fuel out the exhaust when I was trying to start it, so it is not a fuel pump.
11. I went ahead and changed the crank sensor and the other cam sensor, still the same codes and no start.