S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Panoz Racing School...question for racers..

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2001, 08:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Panoz Racing School...question for racers..

I am a solo driver and have been tracking my car for a number of years. I probably have over 15 club days under my belt and I have driven 7 different tracks.
My question is, does it make sense for someone with my experience to go to a racing school? I have never raced, I have only done lapping days. It is my understanding that racing school would help, but is it worth the cost??
I am planning on doing the three day school with my bro. I understand also that at the end I am qualified for my SCCA license??
I would love to hear some thoughts from some of you who have done a school like this.
thanks..
Old 11-16-2001, 09:08 AM
AudiWorld Uber User

Default hehehehe...

the problem with street car track events and instruction is that the level of instruction is...arrummm...mixed. Also, driving a street car at alot of track days is going to make you have....arrumm...bad habits.

A formal racing school will do wonders. You might be surprised how difficult being as precise as they'll try to teach you might be.
Old 11-16-2001, 09:19 AM

Default An Answer:

Well to be blunt, yes, you need to go to racing school. While your experience level is clearly better than the "average" driver. You are still not a "race driver." There is no comparison between a street car and a racing car. They are two different animals. Tracking days are nice, and you learn valuable skills. However they are no substitute for a real learning program. Also, if you want to get SCCA licensed, or at least the basic Club/regional racing license you have two possible steps.

Here is a link: www.scca.org