S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Pro Fromance Racing School at SIR! What a day! (longish summary)

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2000, 07:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pro Fromance Racing School at SIR! What a day! (longish summary)

Got back not too long ago from a day of AWESOME driving fun!!! 6 months ago I didn't even know how to drive manual, and after today I was doing laps at the track like I owned it! (ok ok...not THAT good but it's my first time out!

The instruction was great. In the morning we did 3 exercises: Emergency Lane Change, Slalom, and Emergency ABS brake + obstacle Avoidance. I ate some cones on the first skill area (not all my fault!) and got some nice skid marks on my bumper, plus some round plastic piece few off my car! The other 2 exercises I did much better.

Let me tell you, it looks SO MUCH EASIER than it is. I was amazed I didn't eat MORE cones, esp during the slalom. And it's the freakest thing to go full out till 55mph, then stand on the brakes and clutch pedal, AND have to steer around a "kid" (a cone) without touching it. First instince for me was always "freeze up and brace yerselve!". Basically, during the whole morning's worth of exercises, I didn't stop shaking, which didn't help my steering!

When track time came around I half dreaded cause I was still feeling like I had no idea what I was doing and I really didn't wanna wreck my car or hurt myself (or anyone else for that matter). But the instructors were great and got me up to speed in no time. After a few slow laps and a rest I was ready! By the last 20min lapping session today I was nailing almost every corner and every line. It was, frankly, amazing.