S6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi S6 produced from 2012 - 2017

How do I optimize sound quality in the car?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2013, 03:18 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How do I optimize sound quality in the car?

I know it's asking a lot, what with air noise, tire/road noise, engine noise, and exhaust noise, but I'd like my music to sound as good as it can.

I splurged for the B & O system.

I don't know what I can do directly through the car, but I have a subscription to MOG which when connected to wi-fi (I signed up for the 3-year Audi Connect deal that one of you gave us the tip about last week) streams at 320 kbps.

I've got MOG songs on my iPhone at the 320 higher quality bit-rate as well, but I recently read that the iPhone has a low quality DAC and if I'm going to use that, I should get a separate DAC.

I've got songs in iTunes at bitrates ranging from 64 to 1070 (median is 192 kbps).

And I still have some CDs.

I'd love to get some advice from someone that understands all of this better than I do.
Old 01-20-2013, 04:34 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 68 Likes on 51 Posts

There is not a simple answer to this question. It depends on how much you care about quality, and what degree of dedication you intend to put forth in your quest.

I don't have much time to write at this moment, but I'll be happy to do so later on this evening. (We're spending the day at Epcot today)

Personally, I am not a fan of MP3 compression.
I purchase all of my music on CD, or in uncompressed AIFF format. I then convert everything to Apple Lossless for storage on my iPods.

If you still have CDs, then I would suggest ripping them into Lossless as a start.

I'll write back with more info and suggestions later tonight.
Old 01-20-2013, 08:50 PM
AudiWorld Member

From an Audi site that had music questions and answers:

What file types does the MMI accept?