Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Newbie here, please go easy on me, but got a ton of questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2019, 04:00 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newbie here, please go easy on me, but got a ton of questions

Hi everyone,

newbie here! After being a BMW fanboy for 15+ years I've purchased my first Audi (2011 q5 2.0t)for my commuter car after test driving the q5 I just felt it was a better ride and deal than the x3s I was looking at. I am extremely excited to have my first audi but with that said I also have no experience with audis so please bear with me. I do want to say that I have an above-average level of knowledge working on cars (BMWs only though, I have a fairly modded m3 as my weekend car) so I do plan on tackling all the items myself and yes I've already done a TON of searching on the forums and found a lot of answers but just wanted to confirm some items.

1. The cargo area did not come with a privacy cover, I've been looking on eBay and looks like all the OEM ones are the hardshell type, not the pull and retracting type... did the q5s not come with the retracting style covers? I prefer that style but I only see aftermarket ones (which I'm fine with), also they seem to be fairly pricy, $200+, is that expected?

2. The car did not come with a backup camera and I have already figured out how to wire an OEM camera in with the module but my question is if it's worth it. I see a lot of people going aftermarket with android units and non-oem backup cameras. I wouldn't be opposed to go that route if it's more cost-effective or is a better product

3. The trunk does not unlatch with the trunk button, I need to use the key or press the button on the driver's side door, I did read something about a valet button in the glovebox but my key opens the trunk so that doesn't seem to be the issue, any suggestions?