Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B9) Discussion forum for the B9 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet 2018 model year and up

I'm so fed up with Auto Start

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2019, 03:53 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts
Default I'm so fed up with Auto Start

Hi Guys,

Sorry for the upcoming rant.
I am so fed up and so sick of the Auto Start that I'm starting to lose it.
Why did Audi not allow users to select what mode that want and keep it that way.
I'm new to coding, I have not coded anything myself, but I think that I can figure it out.
Can someone point me in the right direction on which coder to buy? Or if anyone has a recommendation for a shop in Toronto area that does coding for these cars.

Also, my car did not come with Audi Driver's Assist Package - NO ACC, Lane Keep, and all that jazz.
However, when reverse parking, I do get warning from the car that there is cross traffic coming.
Also, in certain situations, the car will slam on the brakes. Like when backing up and approaching an object.
Can this be coded out as well?

Also, I've heard that people are very cautious about the warranty. If I code some things out, should my warranty still be active?

I feel that in another month, I'm going to wear out the Auto Start button.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Superfly_S5; 11-01-2019 at 04:02 PM.
Old 11-01-2019, 04:03 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 26 Likes on 7 Posts

Hello fellow Torontonian Buy a Carista Dongle on amazon for $26 and disable the auto start/stop (plus activate / de-activate some other goodies as well within the 1 month trial).

Re your other gripe, in 2.5+ years of owning the car I have had the car abruptly stop 3 or 4 times total due to the sensors seeing something that was not there. I believe you can disable it via MMI or at least make it less sensitive.

Good luck!
Old 11-01-2019, 04:22 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

Originally Posted by Superfly_S5
Hi Guys,