Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

2009 Audi Q5 cylinder 1 misfire P0301

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2019, 08:46 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 Audi Q5 cylinder 1 misfire P0301

Hey guys so I’ve been fighting this problem for weeks now and it’s getting pretty frustrating. The ol ball n chain has a 2009 Audi Q5 with the 3.2l in it. I’m new to Audi’s so excuse me if I don’t use audi terminology and stuff. Anyways about two months ago she had a misfire and I replaced all coil packs and plugs with genuine Audi parts and this solved the problem well then a few weeks ago i got a p0301 code for a cylinder 1 misfire. P0302 comes up on occasions for a cylinder 2 misfire. So naturally I swapped coil packs around and the misfire didn’t follow them. I did the same with spark plugs and nothing. So then I continued to check the compression on cylinder 1 and 2 and both were at 120psi so that’s not it. After that I figured well it’s either a injector or a bad air fuel ratio. Not wanting to pull he intake manifold to test injectors I decided to smoke test the vacum system to see if I had a intake manifold leak or a broken hose somewhere to cause it to misfire and came up with nothing. I’m totally lost st this point and would really hate to tear it apart to do injectors and have that not be the problem. After this I took it to my buddies shop and used his snap on reader and it said something about a intake valve stuck open but stupidly I didn’t write down the code opps. So not sure what that meant. The car runs rough at idle but runs great when driving down the road. but again totally lost and frustrated at this point seeing we haven’t even had the car for a year. It had about 160k on it any input would be immensely appreciated thanks!
Old 11-03-2019, 01:34 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 61 Likes on 56 Posts