Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Q5 low oil pressure

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2022, 01:23 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Q5 low oil pressure

Hi all, this is my first post here. I'm a college student and recently bought a 2013 q5 2.0 from my parents after selling my Chevy hhr (ew). But having had the car in our immediate family since it was new, as of 8,000 miles, since they bought it slightly used to miss the huge depreciation hit of buying a brand new car, we know the car has been meticulously cared for and has only ever been serviced/repaired at a reputable oem quality audi/bmw shop in the area.

It has been requiring a quart of oil about every 1,000 miles since it has had about 80,000 miles which is a common issue, but however now at 104,000 miles I have been getting the red "low oil pressure. Turn off engine now" warning light. Keep note that this was never an issue until I had a major oil LEAK Which replacing the oil pressure switches fixed. However two days after that repair and the red light came on so I took it in thinking they gave me faulty oil switches but they said that due to the high oil consumption issue these engines have that the cam bearings were probably worn out prematurely causing oil to be able to flow too easily through them, hence the "low pressure" warning.

The shop owner, and I trust them, even took me to the back to show me a 2013 a4 2.0t that was having The engine overhauled/rebuilt to resolve the same issue. He told me that a4 only had 74k, significantly less than me!