TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Derrick Thomas dies from injuries suffered in recent car crash...

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2000, 04:37 PM
Brad Willis

Default Derrick Thomas dies from injuries suffered in recent car crash...

As some of you may know, Derrick Thomas, the outstanding All-Pro Kansas City Chiefs linebacker, died today from injuries that he suffered in a recent automobile accident. Thomas, who was 33, was widely known as not only an immensely gifted athlete, but a fine man as well.

Unfortunately, Thomas was driving at high speeds in icy conditions, and was not wearing his seatbelt. A passenger in his car, who was wearing a seatbelt, walked away from the crash with only minor injuries.

As a former police officer, I have witnessed some of the most horrific collisions imaginable. I have seen first hand how seat belts can save lives and prevent serious injuries. I myself walked away from a 40 mph head on collision with only mild whiplash, thanks to my seatbelts.

So condolences to the fans, family, and friends of Mr. Thomas, and perhaps we can all learn something from this tragedy. If you don't always wear your seatbelts, perhaps Derrick Thomas' untimely death will allow you to reconsider.
Old 02-08-2000, 04:50 PM
Arthur Emerson

Default More details on the crash

According to Yahoo news, there were three people in the SUV. Thomas and the second passenger were ejected from the vehicle. The second person died at the scene. The third passenger, wearing a seatbelt, received only minor injuries. Vehicle speed was reported well over 70 MPH on a wintry road. When will these people learn..... :-(
Old 02-08-2000, 05:09 PM
Denny

Very sad. SUV doesn't equal invincibility in the winter ... awful news
Old 02-08-2000, 05:09 PM
Denny

You are so right. I use them driving five feet
Old 02-08-2000, 05:56 PM
RogerL

Default Hope everyone listens to Brad.