TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

effects of heat on a boost machine...

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2005, 12:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default effects of heat on a boost machine...

I have been running a boost machine for about 4 months or so now. Since I am running stock ecu programming, I am limited how far up I can go without hitting limp mode. When the weather/temperature changes more than 10 degrees I have to adjust the boost machine to keep optimal performance. I don't think the chipped cars are as affected by temp changes.

So my question is, is it the heat of the air passing through the lines to the boost machine that affect this or is it the underhood temps on the exterior to the boost machine that affect this?

I was at the track the other night, and I had been tuned perfectly before heading out there. After a couple hard laps I kept hitting limp mode. I backed off the boost machine when I came in, but apparenly not enough and kept hitting it again, though not as often. I have been contemplating moving the boost machine into the cabin of the car in a discrete location since before I installed it. would this possibly save my temperature variation by moving it out of the engine compartment?
Old 07-15-2005, 12:17 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default chipped cars are effected the same way - it's your ecu optimized your turbo for the warmer

weather - Steve will be better able to explain but yes, chipped cars are equaly affected by temps

you seem to be running on the edge of limp and may want to back off a bit more for efficiencies sake!
Old 07-15-2005, 12:29 PM
Elder Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default the entire engine bay is affected by engine heat. ever open up the hood after a hard