TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

incredible, but depressing

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-1999, 01:13 PM
Rich

Default incredible, but depressing

I'm a recent college grad with a great job at a public relations agency and I must say, I'm obsessed with this car. I've been out to the local Audi dealership (Carousel Porsche/Audi) to look at the TT more times than I care to count. The salespeople have been uniformly pleasant, allowing me to take the TT (FWD and Q) out for a test drive any time it's available. Every time I drive the car feels better than the last. I'm wondering if there is anyone else on this forum with limited means like myself who have managed to buy a TT without ending up with a hideous monthly payment. How did you do it? Anyone have any recomendations? I do take charity.
Old 08-24-1999, 02:07 PM
John J. Szobocsan

Default Reply inside

Rich,

The best advise that I can give you is the advice that you will not want to hear. Wait before purchasing, or even leasing, an Audi TT. Ownership of an automobile is an expensive proposition. The entry price of the Audi TT at $34,000 sounds fairly reasonable when compared to the prices of Mercedes SLKs and Porsche Boxsters; however, ownership costs are high compared to an ordinary family car also priced at $34,000. Remember that insurance costs will be high and also are the price of replacement tires. You will be hard pressed to get 20,000 miles from a set (each tire is about $225). Depending on where you live you may need a set of winter tires and wheel. Allocate $1200 for this purchase. As you can see ownership is becoming more expensive than want you originally expected.