TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

As a major participant in the OT debate I'd like to add my 2 cents...

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2003, 07:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default As a major participant in the OT debate I'd like to add my 2 cents...

I have been frequenting the TT boards for several years now and in that time have had the opportunity to learn about my TT and to make new and lasting friendships....

The reason I am so disturbed by the guidelines surrounding AW's OT policy is because these guidelines are completely ARBITRARY. (Actually, it's the enforcement or lack of enforcement of the guidelines)

Yes, there are times when the OT on the forum goes overboard...but...in the past....these times have ALWAYS settled down in time. To think that someone can decide which OT is acceptable and which OT is not (assuming none of it violates AW's TOS) is an impossible task.

When I was approached behind the scenes and asked to stop posting "Dead Celebs", I was infuriated because it was obvious I was being singled out for something that IMHO offended no one...and in fact encouraged educational dialogue on the forum...Again, to think that this forum can survive on TT talk alone is ridiculous! We are more than the sum of our TT's.

I like to think that even though I am not a "gearhead" that I add to the sense of community on this forum. After all, my TT Photo Contests & TT Calendars are not done for my benefit but for the benefit of the community. Technically speaking...photography and calendars are OT! Also, I try to be welcoming to newbies (unless they approach the forum in a completely disrespectful manner)...and I field the questions I can handle..ie. valve stem covers and armrests...LOL