TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Need repair advice, possible purchase

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2014, 06:37 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need repair advice, possible purchase

All, I use cadillac forums.com and it seems pretty similar to this site. I am looking at a 2003 TT, and have came across one for a good price ... BUT there are a few problems.. I am new to the audi tt idea so I have no Idea how bad these problems are with the TT.

I would love to get your input on what all this would cost to fix and any other I out you may have.

Here is the verbiage as per the sellers listing

" 2003 Audi TT
1.8 Turbo Automatic Transmission with 74,200 miles on it
Has tiptonic shifting
It is a solid TT - clean inside and out.
It drives very smooth no ticking clicking or weird noises on the engine.
Interior is very clean and very minimal wear on seats.

Overall, the car runs great.

Here's what's been replaced in the last 6 months from a professional shop:

-Spark Plugs
-Coil Pack
-Thermostat
-Water Pump
-Wire Harness
-2 tires & alignment

Here are the "issues" with the car:
Keep in mind, as you look at other Audi TT's, most others all have these exact same problems, but they aren't listed. These have all been like this since I bought it, and it hasn't affected the functionality of the drive a bit.

-Front right speaker is out.
-Key FOB needs reprogrammed to use Unlock, Lock, and Trunk Release
-The display that tells the outdoor temperature and which door is open is slightly pixilated.
-Heater doesn't blow hot.
-One of the temperature ***** is broken off.
-Trunk struts need replaced as it won't stay open unless you hold it.

I've tried to be EXTREMELY honest in listing every little detail so that you know exactly what you're buying. It runs tremendous, but since most people viewing this aren't local and may bid without viewing, I just wanted to make sure there was NOTHING "