TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

OT: Despair.com :-( new offerings...some of these are VERY funny

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2000, 06:42 AM
Elder Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT: Despair.com :-( new offerings...some of these are VERY funny

<a href="http://www.despair.com/idin1.html" target="_new">Idiotic Insights</a>

<a href="http://www.despair.com/teambreakers.html" target="_new">Team Breakers</a>
Old 12-22-2000, 07:43 AM
Ego

Default I love those things (more)

I've been buying their calendar since 1999, and absolutely love all the neat tidbits in there. It even turns out to be a small history lesson a great deal of the time. Back in the 50's, apparently, a B-2 bomber was carrying a live nuclear warhead, and inadvertantly dropped it over South Carolina. Fortunately, the warhead did not detonate. Its little things like this that make it into the calendars, that otherwise, would remain rather, well, unspoken. I'd never heard of that incident until I read it in their calendar.
Old 12-22-2000, 07:54 AM
AudiWorld Super User

(Ahem.) Perhaps a B-52?
Old 12-22-2000, 08:04 AM
Ego

Default heh, woops. Yea, that's what I meant. B-2 is the stealth, isn't it? (more)

So, in theory, if in fact the B-2 is the stealth bomber, it is not entirely impossible that it was in fact a B-2 back then. The stealth plane concept was under development back in the 50's, and one flew in the late 50's if I remember correctly. So that's what the government tells us. Who knows, maybe it was being developed even earlier.
Old 12-22-2000, 09:37 AM

Default These are great. The "originals" are on walls at the office. I'd love to

print a few out substitute them....see if anyone notices
Old 12-22-2000, 09:46 AM
Elder Member

That'd be funny, but would probably get you fired...I'm particularly fond of the "incompetence" one
Old 12-22-2000, 01:18 PM

Default Despair.com thanks you!

Hi All: