TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

OT: Touching Story (longish, but good read)

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2001, 10:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT: Touching Story (longish, but good read)

I work for Walgreen Co. and every week the CEO, Dan Jorndt puts out what he calls the LD Jolt. It is usually a page or so and contains bits of wisdom and insight. This weeks caught my eye and I thought I would share...

Twenty years ago, I drove a cab night for a living. It was a cowboy's life, for someone who wanted no boss. What I didn't realize is it was also a ministry. My cab became a moving confessional -- passengers sat behind me in total anonimity and told me about their lives. None touched me more than a woman I picked up late one August night.

When I arrived at 2:30 a.m., the small brick fourplex was dark except for a single light in a ground floor window. Under these circumstances, many drivers would honk once or twice, wait a minute, then drive away. But I had seen too many impoverished people who depended on taxis. Unless a situation smelled of danger, I always waited.

So I walked to the door and knocked. "Just a minute," answered a frail voice. I could hear something being dragged across the floor. When the door opened, a small woman in her 80s stood before me. She was wearing a print dress and a pillbox hat, like somebody out of a 1940s movie. "Would you carry my bag?" she said. I took the suitcase, then returned to assist the woman. She gae me an address, then asked, "Could you drive through downtown?"

"It's not the shortest way," I answered quickly. "Oh, I don't mind," she said. "I'm in no hurry. I'm on my way to the hospice." I looked in the rearview mirror. Her eyes were glistening. "I don't have any family left," she continued. "The doctor says I don't have very long."