TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Speaking of speeding tickets (thanks Glen and Bill)... does anyone in Maryland have experience......

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2002, 07:11 AM
Elder Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speaking of speeding tickets (thanks Glen and Bill)... does anyone in Maryland have experience......

with pleading "guilty with an explanation"?

C'mon, I've never done this before... what can I expect, what kind of court costs if any are involved... I appreciate any insight. My "85 in a 55" doom-day is a week away now. Thanks.
Old 10-19-2002, 07:32 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Sorry you got caught Nancy. Did you have the detector on? The reason I ask

is that I tend to slow down for awhile when I hear someone else got a ticket. And also, like most people, when I see an accident .I was speeding last night & when I don't get caught I get a false sense of security.This car just feels too good around 90-100mph.So scare me a little I need it!
Old 10-19-2002, 07:33 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Not all judges do this (last time I was in court this was not offered)

basically what you are saying with guilty with explanation is that you <b>were</b> speeding (you are not contesting the facts..i.e. the radar must have been wrong etc) but that you were keeping with traffic, you had to pee (I know this could be possible with you =-P) you were late for an interview, you were speading up to pass someone, you were merging over etc etc....
This is admitting you were speeding but that there were extenuating (sp?) circumstances and you offer yourself at the mercy of the court.

If you have not has a ticket in a long time...make sure that the judge takes note (they usually will ask anyway.

Hope that helps