TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

TT rules SCCA Solo2 (a little long)

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2001, 04:55 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TT rules SCCA Solo2 (a little long)

Entered my first SCCA Solo2 event (New England Region) yesterday. My 180FWD is in GS (G Stock) class, but with me being a novice I was racing against the 27 other novices (including a Boxster, S2000, Impreza, and Integra). Each of the cars is still classified based on model, then an index is applied (multiplier based on their car class) to the raw time to get the PAX time, which defines the overall finish in the Novice class.

I was running on Mich Pilot Sport (and 48000 on the odo, with about 5k on the tires). The fastest time of the day was in the 27 second range (AMOD - heavily modified cars).

My first of three runs included a 90 degree spin coming out of a slalom, then another 90 degree after overcorrecting, then continuing on. I finished with a 34.8 sec run. Not bad, I thought, considering I lost quite a bit of time to the spins. I later found out the announcer thought I had quattro because of the way I was able to get back under control.

My second run, the fastest of my runs, was very sweet. Slow where I needed to be, and fast when required. The brakes are awesome (even after 48k), and the handling is tremendous under loads. My time for this run was 32.7, with my last run being 32.8.

The Boxster guy, who has been running Porsche Club events and a few SCCA events, clocked in with a 32.2! With my and the Porsche's PAX, I finished 0.5s second ahead of him!!! Unofficially, without the PAX, I was still second overall in the Novice class.

With my PAX applied, I am listed at 25.8 seconds, a bit faster than the AMOD, which is the baseline for the PAX.