Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

air bag warning module help pleaase

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2010, 06:05 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default air bag warning module help pleaase

Hi I am a complete novice but ill try to explain this problem I am having hoping these are some Audi geniuses out these who may be able to help.

I have recently bought a 51plate 1.8T Audi a4. The air bag warning light has been on since I acquired this vehicle 2 months ago. This is registered as a Cat D.

I have had the codes read by a local garage who advised they have spoken to audi and they have advised me to replaced the module which you know is not cheap.

The fault codes are
01218 fried air bag igniter upper limit reached pass side n200.
01217 fried air bag igniter upper limit reached n199.
0003 control module malfunction.

I have been advised that I need to replace the module? If I do will this fix the problem? And will it have to be re-coded?

Also I have been advised that there are company’s out there that can reset my existing module?

Last but not least I need to obtain the correct part number from the existing module I have heard this is located behind the centre console and the radio will have to come out is this correct?

Thanks again for anybody that can offer any advice on any of the above its greatly appreciated.

Steve
Old 08-17-2010, 09:57 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Post a complete Auto-Scan from the Vehicle in question please - not just a brief excerpt.
Old 08-18-2010, 03:09 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by Theresias
Post a complete Auto-Scan from the Vehicle in question please - not just a brief excerpt.

Thanks for the repsonse ill have to speak to my friend cause to be honest i have no idea what im doing he just advised me that these are the codes that come up when scanning for air bag faults and that audi technical have advised to replace the air bag module.
Old 08-25-2010, 06:20 AM
Audiworld Junior Member