Vag-com engine>measuring block

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2012, 12:45 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vag-com engine>measuring block

Hi all

Newbie here so please be patient and go easy on me

I am currently having problems with my A5, I received my vag-com today (cool bit of kit) but I am having problems access the measuring blocks section from the engine module. It is currently greyed out and cannot be accessed.

The only option I can access is advanced measuring blocks but from some of the guides I have seen online I do need access to the basic measuring blocks option.

Can anyone advise me further please?
Old 07-12-2012, 10:05 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

58 views and not one reply? Surely someone must have an idea
Old 07-12-2012, 10:31 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by ianreay
58 views and not one reply? Surely someone must have an idea
Since you have a legitimate copy of VCDS, I would contact Ross-Tech directly.
Old 07-13-2012, 06:12 AM
Audiworld Premium Sponsor

Your car uses the UDS protocol. There are no standard measuring values which is why the 08 function is grayed out. All are done using the Advanced Measuring Values. See: http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/tour/adv-meas-blocks.html and in particular pay attention to the sentences about UDS/ODX/ASAM protocol

Basic Settings are also performed using UDS. Basic Settings in UDS appear as drop down options. Again I point you to the manual but to the Basic Settings section: http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/tour/b-settings.html and again, pay attention to the sentences about UDS/ODX/ASAM protocol

What exactly are you trying to do?
Old 07-13-2012, 08:38 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Thanks for the answers its appreciated.

I need to try a throttle body alignment also a DPF regeneration. But the guides I have read say I need access to basic measuring blocks. So unless I can access the basic option I dont think I can do either?
Old 07-13-2012, 09:02 AM